3 mounds in 1 day – why not?

So first of all hello everybody who is reading this. I am happy you came to my blog and today I want to share another story from my Erasmus life in Krakow. First of all a little introduction. What is mound and why there are 3 mounds in Krakow? Mound is heaped pile of earth. And here it Krakow all the mounds are dedicated to some special people who lived here or meant something in Polish history. There are actually 4 here but I like just these 3 the most. Their names are Krakus, Pilsudski and Kościuszko. First too are free for entry and the Kościuszko one you have to pay if you want to go up. It is mostly because there is some kind of museum and things like that. But ok, lets looks closer how to get up to these mounds and how was my trip. If I recommend it or not.

Capture
Map of whole trip around 3 mounds in Krakow

Krakus mound

So I started with Krakus mound. This one is behind Kazimierz what is part of Krakow, mostly popular because of Jews. To get to this mound from city center you will need about 35 minutes or so. It is not really far. This mound as I found is really popular for photographer – every time when I go up there, many of them is photographing the panoramic view. All over this mound is a big green area where you can set up your picnic or just sit down and enjoy the view or talk with friends. If you come here in the evening you will for sure find some people grilling, especially on Friday night or during the weekend.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski2of44 - Copy
On the way to Krakus – in this picture Wawel castle
krakuskosczuskopilsudski5of44 - Copy
Kościół pw. św. Józefa
krakuskosczuskopilsudski13of44 - Copy
Mound Krakus
krakuskosczuskopilsudski12of44 - Copy
View from the Krakus mound – in the middle Wawel castle, on left side Kościół pw. św. Józefa
krakuskosczuskopilsudski10of44 - Copy
View from the green area under Krakus mound

But one advice if you decide to go up to this mound. On the way, stop to see Benedykt fortress. It is closed but still worth to visit. You have to walk a bit around to see it better but there is a possibility. It is a bit waste of architecture I have to say. The fortress looks amazing from outside and I am sure if some people will care of it, it might be a good touristic spot.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski7of44 - Copy
Kościół pw. św. Józefa – not far from Krakus mound
krakuskosczuskopilsudski8of44 - Copy
Benedykt fortress – right nex to the Kościół pw. św. Józefa

Kościuszko mound

On my tour around mounds in Krakow, the next on the list was Kościuszko. I had to walk a bit through the city, over the Wawel castle.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski14of44 - Copy
Wisla river – on the way up to Kościuszko mound
krakuskosczuskopilsudski15of44 - Copy
Wawel from the other side of river

And then I got up to the green trail, which should bring me right up to Kościuszko and later through the woods up to Pilsudski mound. The way up to Kościuszko is nice when you have a sunny day as I had. Many people are walking on this path with children, dogs etc.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski17of44 - Copy
First part of green trail up to Kościuszko mound

When I got under the Kościuszko  mound I had to turn left to get inside. If you do not want to pay and you just want to see the mound, you can do it. I also entered the area of mound for free, but as I already was on the top I did not see any sence to pay for it once again. Especially when I planned to go also to Pilsudski, but I will talk about this a bit later. So Kościuszko, what to say about this. This is the highest mound and as I remember it has about 36m. It looks really stunning and I am sure if it is your first time in Krakow, you should visit it. And the price for the ticket is 10 zloty for students and children and 14 zloty for adults.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski19of44
Kościuszko mound
krakuskosczuskopilsudski20of44
Kościuszko mound – free zone
krakuskosczuskopilsudski18of44
If you do not want to pay this is the only view which you can get for free, so think about it!

Pilsudski mound

I decided to continue to Mound Pilsudki by green tourists trail. It was a bit tricky, so if you want to do the same, pay attention to your GPS as the turn from regular path into the forest trail is a bit hidden. On this trail I found some really cool rock structures and a lot of birds who were singing just for me. Green forest is something super cool in Krakow. I never expected to love forests in Krakow – but I felt in love. So, on the way up to Pilsudski mounds I visited some other rock structured, such as Panienske skaly for example.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski24of44
Back on green trail – natural tunnel
krakuskosczuskopilsudski26of44
Lovely green areas on green trail – completly without any people
krakuskosczuskopilsudski29of44
Some rock structures on the green trail
krakuskosczuskopilsudski30of44
On the way up to Pilsudski mound
krakuskosczuskopilsudski32of44
Panienske skaly

If you walk here and you are lucky enough, you can meet some deers which are running around the forest. But back to my walk. As I exited the forest, Mound Pilsidski just appeared. I loved how it looked like. Actually I always love it when I come here. I forgot to say that I come here almost every day when I have free time, it is about 7km there and 7 back but it worth it. At least for me. To climb up to the mound it took me about 5 or 7 minutes as it was about 500m to get up. This mound is quite large I have to say but the view from the top is … pfeeeew. It is just stunning. The mound is covered by the forest, but as it is the second highest from these 3, when you are on the top you are over the trees already. If you look straight you will see Krakow with Wawel, on the left side you will see the airport and if you move to the south you will see some Slovakian mountains already. The highest one is called Babia hora. And one last tip for this mound – if you are brave enought and you are not afraid of deers and boars, stay here till the sunset and a bit later when first stars will appear. It is lovely, nobody in this place, just you, stars and noise from the ZOO. Yes, there is a ZOO not far away from here, so do not be surprise if you can hear a lion or some other animals. 

krakuskosczuskopilsudski37of44
View from Pilsudski mound – in the middle Wawel castle
krakuskosczuskopilsudski36of44
View from Pilsudski mound – this is view over the area where I walked 34km (I wrote about it another blog post, so if you want to go to check it out )
krakuskosczuskopilsudski38of44
Pilsudski mound

So do I recommend this tour? If you are in Krakow just for one day, probably you should choose just some of these mounds of use public transport to reach all of them. But if you study in Krakow or live here and you have enough time, definitely try it. It is kinda amazing to see Krakow from 3 different mounds. I started the trip from students dormitory and whole trails was about 24km and took me about 6 hours – if I count also some stops which I did. So, if you liked this idea, I will be happy if you try it in future and if you want, let me know how was it. I would love to hear about it.

krakuskosczuskopilsudski43of44
I love this forest grass, I think it looks really stunning
krakuskosczuskopilsudski44of44
The way back from Pilsudski mounds

Your Supertramp 

Pridaj komentár

Táto webová stránka používa Akismet na redukciu spamu. Získajte viac informácií o tom, ako sú vaše údaje z komentárov spracovávané.